EU network of mesocosms facilities for research on marine and freshwater ecosystems open for global collaboration.

Scientific and Technology Advisory Board (STAB)

A dedicated Advisory Board will be established for AQUACOSM. The main role of the STAB will be to help to guarantee the delivery of high scientific and technical quality output from the project, and to ensure that the project partners keep an open and effective dialog with present and potentially relevant networks and infrastructures. In that function, the STAB will act as a constant internal review mechanism, advising independently with both quality control and risk management. While generally being asked on views and advice on specific issues, the STAB will be free to express its opinion on any aspect of AQUACOSM activity and performance.

The STAB will also advise on the outreach to the wider scientific and stakeholder communities not directly involved in the project and for benefiting from independent, external expertise. The STAB will be established at the beginning of the project, and will have up to 8-10 members all expected to be serving in their personal capacity. Primarily the STAB will consist of leading scientists in their fields, but members will also be sought from regional, national decision maker communities.

The STAB may call on additional experts on an ad hoc basis, should the need arise. The STAB will meet physically at least twice during the life of the project, with meetings scheduled to precede those of the internal interim reports and project reviews, and in conjunction with meetings of the General Assembly. For the full duration of the project, members of the STAB are expected to be available at any time for specific questions. The STAB will primarily advise and work with the Project Coordinator and Steering Committee, but deliver its main reports to the General Assembly.

Confirmed STAB members (may be expanded):

  1. Dr. Abad Chabbi: AnaEE, INRA France
  2. Dr. Heidrun Feuchtmayr: Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH), UK
  3. Dr. Michael Mirtl: iLTER/LTER-Europe, Umweltbundesamt, Austria
  4. Prof. Dr.  Jochen Koop: DANUBIUS-RI Project, Federal institute of Hydrology, Koblenz, Germany
  5. Prof. Dr. Kitack Lee: Postech Pohang University of Science and Technology, School of Environmental Science and Technology, South Korea.
  6. Dr. Ari Asmi: ENVRI and RISCAPE RI-projects, University of Helsinki, Finland
  7. Dr. Silke Langenheder: SITES AquaNet, Uppsala University, Sweden

Further information about the Scientific and Technology Advisory Board (STAB) task.